Skip to content
PO Box 1125, Mesa, AZ 85211 / CALL US: 1-844-400-2286

Our Board

in page john meza photo

John Meza

President AATN

John has proudly served the community of Mesa for over 30 years in various capacities within the Mesa Police Department and now serves the City of Tempe as the Director of Student Affairs and Safety for the Tempe Union High School District. From his early years as a gang detective conducting gang prevention, intervention, and enforcement projects to his recent retirement as the Chief of Police. He received a Bachelor’s of Science degree in Business Management from the University of Phoenix and a Master’s Degree in Human Relations/Counseling from Northern Arizona University.

Nancy Baldwin

Treasurer AATN

Nancy is the Executive Director and a Trustee of the Hickey Family Foundation. Nancy is the primary liaison between HFF and all external entities including investment banks, grant seekers, legal, accounting and auditing services, and other NGOs and funders. She manages and coordinates all administration, operations and activities of the Foundation. Nancy holds a B.S. in Business Administration, an A.A.S. in Marketing and A.A.S. in Management. In 2011, Nancy received her certification in nonprofit management from the Nonprofit Management Institute, ASU Lodestar Center for Philanthropy & Nonprofit Innovation.

Barbara Strachan

Barbara is the Senior Associate of Social Impact for the Girl Scouts – Arizona Cactus Pine Council, Inc. She is a graduate of Northern Arizona University with a BA is social and behavioral science and a M.Ed. in Educational Leadership. Ms. Strachan joined the Girl Scout team in 2006 to serve girls 5-18 years old throughout the Valley. The Social Impact Programs focus on upholding the Girl Scout initiative of Every Girl, Everywhere, Ms. Strachan delivers programs to girls of every ethnicity and in every situation including after school programs, children of incarcerated parents, refugee children, girls in detention facilities, and group homes. Prior to working with Girl Scouts Ms. Strachan served as the Program Coordinator for Catholic Charities AZ DIGNITY Services/Diversion Programs. She has been involved with anti-human trafficking efforts in Arizona for more than 18 years. Ms. Strachan believes in the powerful impact that Girl Scouting makes in the lives of girls by instilling courage, confidence, and character in the lives of girls.

Dr. Marilyn Seymann

Marilyn is respected nationally for her insightful guidance of both private and public institutions. Dr. Seymann is Chief Executive Officer of Caring Capital, LLC, a consulting firm specializing in creating innovative solutions for community collaboration, legacy creation and the compassionate use of capital. Prior to forming Caring Capital, Dr. Seymann was the CEO of the Bruce T. Halle Family Foundation, which emphasizes issues related to social justice and vulnerable populations. She is a member of the board of directors of both State Farm Bank and MAXIMUS, Inc. In addition to these roles, her achievements include: Director and Vice Chairman of the Federal Housing Finance Board; Executive Vice President of Chase Bank of Arizona; Founding Partner of the Directors’ Council; Chief of Staff to (former) Arizona Governor Bruce Babbitt and corporate board roles at True North, Beverly Enterprises, Northwestern Corporation and other public and private companies. Dr. Seymann has demonstrated sophisticated business and financial insights as a chief executive officer, corporate director and business consultant, bringing the same expertise to leadership roles at such educational institutions as International Institute of the Americas, Arizona State University Colleges of Business and Law and other institutions. She is sought out widely as a speaker and co-authored The Governance Game, a guide to effective corporate governance. Committed to her community, Dr. Seymann has taken leadership roles in a wide range of non-profit and charitable organizations and has received a multitude of awards for her civic engagement. In 2001, the Arizona Foundation for Women created the eponymous Marilyn R. Seymann Award, with Dr. Seymann its first recipient.